December 8, 2010 – Hotel Monte Igueldo, San Sebastian, Spain

My trip to Spain earlier this year led me to a great hotel in San Sebastian, Spain.  While I was researching my trip and putting my itinerary together, I was fascinated by the pictures of the beaches in this seaside city.  Picture this, arriving at the beach and looking up towards this huge cliff with a sole building placed at the top of overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.   I was completely stunned when I reached the top of the hill.  When you first park your car which is right beside the ocean, you are drawn to look over the side of the cliff where you can see for miles and miles of blue ocean.  When you walk into the hotel the reception area is surrounded by glass which overlooks the beaches below.  You can’t help but to be drawn to the views, in fact you can’t take your eyes off of it.   It was like something out of a movie and I had to pinch myself as it was the most beautiful sight I have seen in all of my travels thus far. 

Amenities at this hotel include a pool on the rooftop and it’s a hotel that accommodates both couples and families.  In fact, there is an amusement park on site with a log ride that surrounds the hotel that takes you right beside the cliff.  Talk about adventurous!  There are 125 rooms which are very spacious, and most have a panoramic view of the beach which can be enjoyed from a private terrace.  WiFi is available, but there is an extra cost for it which is 5 euros a day but the connection is good.  I had the opportunity to each both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and both were very appetizing meals.  The staff went out of their way to help me celebrate my birthday and again to have these magnificent views while eating a meal can be priceless.  If you are planning on staying at the hotel, it’s a good suggestion to leave your car at the hotel while you explore the city below you.  There is a Venicular  that takes you down to the beach below for 1.90 euros p/p.  Be aware that it does close at 8pm so you either have to take a taxi or drive if you plan on staying later to explore the nightlife in San Sebastian. 

This hotel does accommodate weddings for a capacity of 400 people.  So that there is special attention given to the bride and groom, only one wedding per day is allowed at this hotel.  Special prices for accommodation are given to the bride and groom.

For more information visit:  http://www.monteigueldo.com/en_inicio.htm

